Author Archives: Backstreeter

June Events at Mostly Books


Thanks to Aileen for an update on Mostly Books events.

Celebrating Pride Month, Mostly Books are hosting a Queer Writers’ Panel in the shop, chaired by author Laura Kay (Wild Things). On the panel are Jiaming Tang (Cinema Love), Luke Turner (Men at War), and Neil Blackmore (Radical Love).

Debut author Claire Daverley will be joining them in the shop to discuss her novel, Talking at Night. It’s a beautiful and heartfelt love story perfect for fans of One Day and Normal People.

Saturday 22nd June – Reverend Richard Coles at the Amey Theatre – 7pm, £16 ticket / £28 ticket and book. To round off the Independent Bookshop Week there is an evening with Reverend Richard Coles in conversation with author Joanna Cannon, discussing the third book in the Canon Clement Mystery series, Murder at the Monastery, and more besides.

See https://mostly-books.co.uk/events/

Abingdon Bank Holiday Walks


The Friends of Abingdon organised a series of Bank Holiday walks today, all departing from the Market Place. In the morning there were four walks on offer, and all places were filled. Penny Clover led a walk exploring the historic boundaries of Abingdon. John Killick guided participants on a nature walk through the Abbey Meadows, showcasing the area’s biodiversity. There was an “Edible Abingdon” walk.

And for the historians, there was a walk around the historic pubs of Abingdon.

The town crier helped lead the boundary walk.

In the afternoon, I led a walk highlighting Abingdon’s public artworks. The surprise hit was the Octagon sculpture near the Old Gaol. Many participants were surprised to learn this land is freely accessible.

The other afternoon walks were: Abingdon’s Oppidum, Rivers of Abingdon, and a nature walk with David Guyoncourt.

Art week at Peachcroft Farm


At Peachcroft Farm, you are tempted by the farm shop and the cafe. But art first.

The sheep see you arrive.

Inside the barn, several artists display their work, and Susan Hill is demonstrating drawing flowers using two hands then painting them with ink and water.

Paul Minter is there explaining his ideas about art and is fascinating to listen to.

A couple of the artists, also produce books of their own poetry. The poetry is also very good as far as you can tell.

Then you sample and buy some cheese, and relax in the cafe with scones and tea before heading back. You wonder whether Peachcroft Farm can continue as a farm with houses marching in on all sides.

Market Day Swap, Plant Swap and Free Dog Treats


Due to the Spring Bank Holiday on Monday, some market stalls that typically operate on Mondays were on the Market Place today. They took advantage of the pleasant weather and also the number of people shopping.

The One Planet Abingdon stall offered a continuously changing selection of plants and seeds. They had a seed and plant swap day, allowing people to exchange spare seeds or plants. Visitors could still take a plant or seeds without bringing any of their own.

The Dog Stop celebrated their first birthday by rewarding visiting dogs with free dog treats.