Mayor Making – Changing of the Guard

Changing of the Guard
There was a changing of the Guard at the Guildhall this evening. Malcolm Hill carried the Mace into the Mayor Making Ceremony for the final time this evening – having held the Office of Honorary Macebearer since 2003.
Changing of the Guard
Nigel Luker became the new Honorary Macebearer and carried the Mace out of the Ceremony.
Changing of the Guard
Malcolm is seen here after the ceremony. He was presented with a certificate by the outgoing Mayor, Angela Lawrence.

Angela gave Mayor’s awards to the chair of governors of the three state secondary schools in Abingdon:
Lynn Fathers – Fitzharrys
Paul Brooks – John Mason
David Lever – Larkmead

Angela commented that the position of school governor is a far more demanding role these days. Governors are held to account for how their school is performing, and need to come to grips with all kinds of data.

Mayor’s Awards were also given to:
Wendy Barratt – Abingdon Breakaway Club,
Dr Tony Gillman – Abingdon, Didcot, and Wantage Talking Newspaper (DAWN)
Changing of the Guard
The incoming Mayor is Helen Pighills,
Changing of the Guard
and her deputy is Alice Badcock.

The new town council also had quite a few different faces.

2 thoughts on “Mayor Making – Changing of the Guard

  1. Angela

    After a year of intensive Mayoring, it feels very strange to not be any more.
    It’s been a wonderful year, so varied, interesting and enjoyable. Abingdon is a great town full of so many talented and kind people.
    I’m sure it will be the same for Helen, and I wish her all the best. She Gave me excellent support as my Deputy and she a very good Mayor.

  2. Rachel

    Angela, hopefully at some point The Bear Club will be able to let the words Mrs or Miss Mayor pass their lips when you meet them!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.